"Summer Insanity" Softball Tournament

Each year the National Conference of State Societies (NCSS) hosts the annual "Summer Insanity" Softball Tournament for all state and territorial societies. This is a double-elimination tournament. 

The 2017 Tournament was held on July 15, 2017 with the Championship Game featuring the New Jersey State Society versus the Texas State Society. 

Congrats to the New Jersey State Society for winning the 2017 Championship!

For more information on the 2018 Tournament, please contact Bill Christian at president@statesocieties.org


History of the NCSS "Summer Insanity" Softball Tournament

Inaugurated in 2012, the NCSS "Summer Insanity" Softball Tournament was inspired by a previous regional effort spearheaded by the Nebraska Society for softball teams in the National Capital Area.  Given the University of Nebraska's identification with the NCAA's "Big Twelve" athletic conference, the Nebraska Society hosted the "States of the Big Twelve" Softball Tournament, an invitational competition for those states with a Big Twelve institution.  To expand this concept to include softball teams from all of the state and territorial societies, the NCSS also borrowed from the iconic NCAA "March Madness" model, with bracketed regional playoffs for (potentially) all 56 jurisdictions of the United States (50 states, 5 territories, and the District of Columbia), divided into four regions of 14 jurisdictions each.  The NCSS regions include:  Northeast/Mid-Atlantic (13 states and D.C.); Southeast/Southwest (12 states, plus Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands); Midwest (14 states); and Pacific/West (11 states, plus American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands).



Winners of the NCSS "Summer Insanity" Softball Tournament (2012 - Present)

2017 -- New Jersey State Society

2016 -- Guam Society

2015 -- New Jersey Power

2014 -- Illinois

2013 -- Texas Exes

2012 -- Illinois


For the ten years (2002 - 2011) of the Nebraska Society's "States of the Big Twelve" Tournament, the winners were:

2011 -- Texas Republic

2010 -- Texas A&M Alumni

2009 -- Texas Republic

2008 -- Well Swung

2007 -- The RBIs of Texas

2006 -- Iowa Chairmen

2005 -- The RBIs of Texas

2004 -- The RBIs of Texas

2003 -- Pete Sessions and the Wicked Kitten Militia

2002 -- West Texas Kitten Militia